Back for the second consecutive year running, Sunday 29th October we again hosted the much anticipated Lota Skate Jam 2023!

Kicking things off with free Beginner Workshops, where first time and novice skaters got to experience the fun of skateboarding under the guidance of our mates at Pavement Skateboard Coaching, while the PCYC Bayside crew stoked up the bbq and cooked up a storm to fuel the masses.

With the mercury on the rise we kicked off the skate competitions with the 12 & Under Division. The level of skateboarding from these youngsters never ceases to amaze us. It was Ethan Potter who took out the win for the boys closely followed by Jude Buchanan and Harrison Brittan and Abby Rose, Ellie Burrows and Cora Wilton in the girls!

Next the 16 & Under Division, showcasing some of Brisbane’s best up and coming rippers! It was Elliot Burke taking the win over Tristan Moffat and Taj Branch in the jnr mens and Mikayla Sheppard, Tamika Shaw and Kayla Shaw in the jnr womxns.

Last for the day was the Main Event – The Open’s Division. Skaters from all over South East Queensland travelled to Lota to battle it out and the level of skateboarding didn’t disappoint for the crowd that had gathered. It came down to Joel Devita, Matt Markland, Ash Wilcomes, Rafael Quirino and Dani Campbell in the final round. The guys went head to head in an amazing final jam session format, where as expected it was hard to keep track of what went down where with tricks firing off left, right and center!. In the end it came down to Dani’s wide use of the park and tech consistency versus the out ledge/down rail destruction by Brazillian transplant Rafael Quirino. Dani came out just on top in a decision that was so close it was hard to choose just one winner!

A huge thanks goes out to Cr. Sara Whitmee, Joan Pease MP, Ross Vasta MP, Brisbane City Council (Visible Ink), Lipke Motors and Bartons Group for supporting the day, along with all of the skaters and families who came together for an epic Sunday of skateboarding. We’re already looking forward to next year!

Filmed and edited by Harry Pascoe
Photography by Matt O’Sullivan